Logo_centre_ceramique_la_borne

> Contact us
> Operational hours
> Press section
> Partners
Newsletter >
Contenir le vent
version française english

 

Brigitte MarionneauBrigitte Marionneau

Contact:

15, La Rongère
18220 Parassy
Tel.: 00 33 (0)2 48 64 36 70
mobile: 00 33 (0)6 69 98 84 70
E-mail
Webmail: www.bmarionneau.fr
Course Organizer


 

 

Brigitte Marionneau
Containing the wind

‘Containing the wind’ is about embarking in another direction. Recent pieces are chunkier and more sculptural, marrying the strength of a new artistic area of work with the constant basic principles which feed into the ceramist’s work. These include the relationship with the body, issues with form, the exploration of black and white and the marriage of the physical and the invisible.

In certain architecture, the luminous black of basalt or ebony can serve to provide an extremely simplified reading of form, lending it its own intensity. Is it a cradle or a miniature tomb of an ancient Egyptian god, the recumbent head of a long-forgotten hero or a rock that arose from the very first? The mystery of these dense volumes, closed in on themselves, cannot be breached. There is a hidden life running through them, and the opaque mass attracts and seduces in the same way an enigma does. Slight furrows - is this a human or a geographical topography? - create waves on the surface of this skin/clay, just as does the couple’s hair in Brancusi’s ‘The Kiss’, bringing life to the monolith. The contrast between the different levels, alternating between smooth and textured, also contributes to animating the whole.
No matter how plain it may be, in Brigitte Marionneau’s work lines are never hard or dead. Quite the opposite, they are touched by a vibrant firmness, a breath, betraying the ceramist’s constant desire to elevate the material to the heavens.

Pascale Nobécourt , Journalist
Extract, September 2016 – ‘Galerie de l’Ancienne Poste’ Catalogue, Toucy, Yonne

 

Gallery:


Photos: Pascal Vangysel

 

Location:


Full screen view


Mentions légales -
© Centre céramique contemporaine La Borne

Logo_centre_ceramique_la_borne

> Contacts
> Horaires
> Espace Presse
> Partenaires
Newsletter >
Contenir le vent
version française english

Brigitte MarionneauBrigitte Marionneau

Contact :

15, La Rongère
18220 Parassy
Tél. : 00 33 (0)2 48 64 36 70
mobile : 00 33 (0)6 69 98 84 70
Courriel
Site internet : www.bmarionneau.fr
Organise des stages

 

 

Brigitte Marionneau
Contenir le vent


« Contenir le vent » amorce une autre direction. Plus ramassées, plus sculpturales, les œuvres récentes allient la force d’un nouveau champ esthétique à la permanence des principales sources nourrissant le travail de la céramiste : rapport au corps, souci de la forme, exploration du noir et blanc, mariage du matériel et de l’invisible.

Dans certaines  architectures, un noir lumineux de basalte ou d’ébène simplifie à l’extrême la lecture de la forme. Celle-ci en acquiert une intensité propre. Berceau ou tombeau miniature d’un dieu de l’antique Egypte, tête couchée de héros désormais oublié ou roche issue des tous premiers magmas ? Le mystère de ces volumes denses, refermés sur eux-mêmes, ne peut être rompu. Parce qu’elle est parcourue d’une vie en filigrane, leur entièreté opaque attire et séduit comme une énigme : de légers sillons – topographie humaine ou géographique ? - ondulent à la surface de cette peau-terre comme ondulaient les cheveux du couple du Baiser, donnant vie au monolithe de Brancusi. Le contraste des différents plans, alternativement lisses et texturés, contribue également à vivifier l’ensemble…
Aussi sobre soit-elle, la ligne, dans le travail de Brigitte Marionneau, n’est jamais dure ni morte. Au contraire, d’une fermeté vibrante, un souffle la traverse, trahissant le désir constant de la céramiste d’élever la matière vers l’espace du ciel.

Pascale Nobécourt , journaliste
Extrait, septembre 2016 - Catalogue Galerie de l’Ancienne Poste, Toucy, Yonne

 

Galerie :

Clichés : Pascal Vangysel

 

Situation :


Afficher une carte plus grande


Mentions légales -
© Centre céramique contemporaine La Borne