Logo_centre_ceramique_la_borne

> Contact us
> Operational hours
> Press section
> Partners
Newsletter >
Exposition membres de l'ACLB
version française english

 

Logo ACLB

Ceramic Association of La Borne

 

The ceramists, potters and sculptors who make up the membership of the Ceramics Association of La Borne each present two or three pieces which define their current work.
10, 20 or 30 years of work, sometimes even more, summed up by 2 or 3 pieces of work.
All of this means that the work selected is neither anodyne nor is it subjective. Each ceramist is putting on exhibition moments of life. All the works shown here invite the viewer to guess, to imagine and to reflect on their meaning.
Ceramics is a mysterious art form, where everything happens out of sight, within the kiln. Every ceramist has his or her own language and relationship with the clay that is both personal and intimate. But what unites them all, regardless of how they choose to express it and by whatever means, is a love for fire.


Workshop locations

Full screen view


Background:

In 1962 the Association of the Potters of La Borne was formed, and its first exhibition took place, organised by Pierre Mestre in a former blacksmith’s forge located at the entrance to the village.
In 1971, the Association with a membership of 12 people set up its exhibition in the former village school for girls, which had been made available by the municipality of Henrichemont.
By 1981, the membership had grown to 25 and was organising the first temporary exhibitions of guest artists.
In 1986, the first Professional Meeting of Ceramists took place, and others followed in 1988-1990-1992-1996-1998-2001-2004-2006- 2007 and 2010.
In 1993, Association of the Potters of La Borne underwent a name change, becoming the Ceramics Centre of La Borne with over 40 members.
In 1998, ten years after the failure of the first proposal to extend the Ceramics Centre, the Association took a new look at the aims of the project and suggests the building of the Centre of the Creation of Ceramics of La Borne. 
In 1999 the articles of the association were deposited at the Regional Offices of the Cher Council.
It was only in 2003, after several projects which did not come to fruition, that a steering committee worked on preparing a new list of specifications and requested a feasibility study to look at a future location. Once the Association was able to convince them of the interest of the project they had put together, in terms of culture, tourism and the economy, the public bodies and local councils provided funding for it. What overcame the scepticism and changed the minds of these bodies were the continuing efforts of the association and La Borne’s synergy and desire to work together.

April 2010 saw the opening of the Contemporary Ceramics Centre of La Borne and the creation of a partnership between the Communauté de Communes des Hautes terres en Haut Berry (the grouping of local councils in the highlands of the Upper Berry region) and the Ceramists’ Association of La Borne, the management arrangements being carried out by the “Communautés de communes”.
In November 2010 the association CCCLB amended its articles, becoming the Ceramics Association of La Borne (ACLB). Today there are 66 members.

Become a Supporting Member:

The Ceramics Association of La Borne cannot survive on just the membership subscriptions of its members. It also needs help from its supporting members. When you make the association and its activities known more widely, and by providing financial support, you provide the association with the ability to conceive of, to manage and to act in this cultural project, ensuring the scheduling of art events, the organisation of international meetings and creating exhibitions.

Download the membership form.



Mentions légales -
© Centre céramique contemporaine La Borne

Logo_centre_ceramique_la_borne

> Contacts
> Horaires
> Espace Presse
> Partenaires
Newsletter >
Exposition membres de l'ACLB
version française english

Logo ACLB

L'association Céramique La Borne


Les céramistes, potiers, sculpteurs, membres de l'Association Céramique La Borne présentent chacune et chacun deux ou trois oeuvres qui définissent leur travail d'aujourd'hui.
10 ans, 20 ans, 30 ans ou plus de pratique de la céramique, résumés en 2 ou 3 pièces.
Autant dire que les oeuvres choisies ne sont ni anodines ni anecdotiques. Chaque céramiste expose des instants de vie. Chaque pièce proposée ici et maintenant est une invitation à deviner, à imaginer, à rêver ce qu'elles veulent dire.
La céramique est un art du mystère. Tout se passe dans le four, à l'abri des regards. Chaque céramiste a son langage et entretient avec l'argile un rapport personnel et intime, mais tous, quelque soit leur mode d'expression, ont en commun l'amour du feu.


Situation des ateliers

Voir en plein écran


Bref historique :

1962 est l’année de la création de l’ Association des potiers de La Borne- APLB - et de la première exposition organisée par Pierre Mestre dans une ancienne forge située à l’entrée du village.
En 1971, l’Association installe son exposition dans l’ancienne école de filles, mise à disposition par la Commune d’Henrichemont et se constitue avec douze membres.
En 1981, elle compte 25 membres et organise les premières expositions temporaires d’artistes invités.
En 1986, 1ère  Rencontre Professionnelle Céramique. D’autres suivront en 1988-1990-1992-1996-1998-2001-2004-2006- 2007- 2010.
En 1993, l’APLB change d’appellation et devient Centre Céramique de La Borne avec une quarantaine de membres.
1998 : Dix ans après l’échec d’une première proposition d’agrandissement du Centre Céramique, l’Association repense les objectifs du projet et propose la construction du Centre de Création Céramique de La Borne.
1999 : les statuts de l’Association  Centre de Création Céramique de La Borne sont déposés à la Préfecture du Cher.

Ce n'est qu'en  2003, après des projets non aboutis , qu'un comité de pilotage travaille à l’élaboration d’un nouveau cahier des charges et engage une étude de faisabilité sur le lieu d’implantation. Les pouvoirs publics et les collectivités territoriales ont apporté les financements après que l’Association  CCCLB ait réussi à les convaincre de l'intérêt culturel, touristique et économique du projet qu'ils avaient conçu. S'il y a eu une évolution des mentalités, si les scepticismes ont été vaincus, c'est dû aux efforts persistants de l’ association et à la synergie associative bornoise.

Avril 2010, ouverture du Centre Céramique Contemporaine de La Borne et mise en place d’un partenariat entre La Communauté de Communes des Hautes terres en Haut Berry et l’Association CCCLB, avec une modalité de gestion par la Communautés de communes.
Novembre 2010 L’association CCCLB modifie ses statuts et devient Association Céramique La Borne (ACLB). Elle compte à ce jour 66 membres.


Devenez membre bienfaiteur :

L'Association Céramique La Borne ne peut vivre avec les seules cotisations de ses adhérents, elle a besoin de l'aide de ses membres bienfaiteurs. En la faisant connaître, en faisant connaître ses activités, en l'aidant financièrement, vous donnez à l'ACLB les moyens de ses fonctions de concepteur, responsable, et acteur dans et acteur dans le projet culturel, la programmation artistique, l'organisation de rencontres internationales, la réalisation des expositions...

Téléchargez le bulletin d'adhésion.



Mentions légales -
© Centre céramique contemporaine La Borne